Search Any Topic

PIB NEWS ANALYSIS 16th - 21st July 2019

1)ECI Flagship IT Program - Electronically Transmitted Postal Ballot System (ETPBS):-ETPBS is a fully secured system, having two security layers. Secrecy of voting is maintained through the use of OTP and PIN and no duplication of casted ETPB is possible due to the unique QR Code in the portal https://www.

Through this system the service voters cast their vote on an electronically received postal ballot, from anywhere outside their constituency, thus reducing the chances of losing the voting opportunity. 

The purpose of the online system was to create convenient and easy-to-use online system for Defense Personnel to become Service Voters. Service Voter turnout in 2014 was only 4%.

2)Ushering in vast improvement in the connectivity of roads and bridges in border areas, Raksha Mantri ShriRajnath Singh inaugurated the One kilometre long Ujh bridge in Kathua district, 617.40 Metre long Basantar bridge in Samba district of Jammu & Kashmir today and dedicated these to the nation.

3)DRDO Research Ship INS Sagardhwani Embarks on Sagar Maitri Mission-2:-Oceanographic research vessel of Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO), INS Sagardhwani, embarked on a two-month long SAGAR MAITRI (SM) Mission-2 from South Jetty, Southern Naval Command (SNC) in Kochi.

SAGAR MAITRI is a unique initiative of DRDO which aligns with the broad objective of Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi’s policy declaration “Safety And Growth for All in the Region (SAGAR)” to promote closer co-operation in socio-economic aspects as well as greater scientific interaction especially in ocean research among Indian Ocean Rim (IOR) countries. Under the aegis of PM’s policy, specific scientific component of DRDOis “MAITRI (Marine & Allied Interdisciplinary Training and Research Initiative)”.

4)‘Paramarsh’:- The Union Minister for Human Resource Development, Dr. Ramesh Pokhriyal “Nishank” launched ‘Paramarsh’ a University Grants Commission (UGC) scheme for Mentoring National Accreditation and Assessment Council (NAAC) Accreditation Aspirant Institutions to promote Quality Assurance in Higher Education in New Delhi.

5)Some Cyber Laws:- Section 67B of the Act specifically provides stringent punishment for publishing, browsing or transmitting child pornography in electronic form. Further, sections 354A and 354D of Indian Penal Code provide punishment for cyber bullying and cyber stalking against women.

Cyber Crime awareness campaign has been launched through twitter handle (@CyberDost) and radio across the country.

6)Go Tribal Campaign:- TRIFED,a Multi-State Co-operative Society under the Ministry of Tribal Affairs has launched the “Go Tribal” campaign on 28.06.2019.Products available under Tribes India brand & outlets can also be procured through Online retailers like Amazon, Flipkart, etc. with whom TRIFED has entered into Memorandum of Understanding (MoU).

7)Ujjawala Scheme:- The Ujjawala Scheme is for prevention of trafficking, rescue, rehabilitation, re-integration and repatriation of victims of trafficking for commercial sexual exploitation.

8)Atal Bimit Vyakti Kalyan Yojana:- Ministry of Labour & Employment

The ESI Corporation has launched a scheme named ‘Atal Bimit Vyakti Kalyan Yojana’ (ABVKY) which, in case the Insured Person (IP) is rendered unemployed, provides relief to the extent of 25% of the average per day earning during the previous four contribution periods (total earning during the four contribution period/730) to be paid up to maximum 90 days of unemployment once in lifetime of the IP on submission of claim in form of an Affidavit.

9)The Incredible India "Find the Incredible You" campaign released globally by the Ministry of Tourism during 2018-19 has been declared winner of the PATA (Pacific Asia Travel Association) Gold Award 2019 in the “Marketing - Primary Government Destination” category.

10)Sachin Tendulkar became the 6th Indian cricketer to be inducted in ICC Hall of Fame. 

Tendulkar became the 6th Indian to make the ICC Hall of Fame. Bishan Singh Bedi (2009), Sunil Gavaskar (2009), Kapil Dev (2009), Anil Kumble (2015), Rahul Dravid (2018) are the other Hall of Famers from the crciket-crazy Asian country.

No comments:

Post a Comment